13.8 – MPEG-C

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Mpeg book

The official title of MPEG-C is MPEG video technologies. As for systems, MPEG realised that there were specific video technologies supplemental to video compression that did not fit naturally into any part 2 of the MPEG-1, -2, -4 and -7 standards.

MPEG-C is composed of 6 parts, two of which are

  1. Part 1 – Accuracy requirements for implementation of integer-output 8×8 inverse discrete cosine transform, was created after IEEE had discontinued a similar standard which is at the basis of important video coding standards
  2. Part 4 – Media tool library contains modules called Functional Units expressed in the RVC-CAL language. These can be used to assemble some of the main MPEG Video coding standards, including HEVC and 3D Graphics compression standards, including 3DMC.


Table of contents 13.7 MPEG-B 13.9 MPEG-D